Time Flies

I can’t believe that August is already approaching. Spring, and most of summer have flown by. The time seems that it has passed by as fleetingly as car passing on the highway, yet at the same time I feel that I’ve watched it go by in slow motion. Life is a crazy thing.

Most of spring and summer have consisted of a lot of working, which I was most grateful for after a winter of depleting my bank account in semi-exotic places. Somehow, in the midst of all the work, I have managed to have a few adventures here and there: a Yampa River training, climbing for the super moon, a 3 summit birthday hike, a trip down Cataract Canyon with my summer semester students, s simul-rappel off of Morning Glory Arch, and lots of runs on the Moab Daily.

Looking back at the last few months is interesting, because I feel like I’ve grown up a lot. I feel more confident in myself as a human being who tries my best, yet still makes mistakes. I feel more confident in my ability to do my job and do it well. I feel much more like an adult than I did six months ago, let alone this time last year. Its funny, because I haven’t faced any huge challenges or experienced anything life-changing. Its just is funny to me that in the moment, I never realized how the experiences I was having in my personal and professional lives were having such a positive impact. The fact that I had grown so much never even occurred to me until a few days ago while I was talking on the phone with a good friend. The realization was such a good feeling, it helped me see that I’m at a really good place in my life and am at a really good place in life, and that I should just sit back and enjoy it while I can.

I’ve found myself focusing much more on the present and what is going on right around me, trying to appreciate all aspects of my life. I don’t want the next few months to pass me by like the last few months have. I want to take the time to stop and look around, to appreciate where I am and who I am with, what I am feeling.

My apologies for the hiatus on this blog y’all. I promise that I’ll try my best to keep this thing more up to date and share my adventures. Look out for more coming your way soon.

One thought on “Time Flies

  1. Wow Parker. Very observant. It is what I have been feeling when talking to you of late, but unable to express. Off to CA this morning. Will miss you, but always do anyway. Glad your life is so good.

    Pops

Leave a comment