Current Favorites

I can hardly believe it is already the middle of July. This summer has truly flown by. June went by in a haze – I was out of town for three weekends in a row, celebrating my younger sister’s graduation from high school and enjoying vacation with my family. The last weekend of June, Zak and I moved from our tiny glorified studio in crowded, noisy, lower Manhattan to a spacious apartment in the historic Fort Greene neighborhood in Brooklyn. We woke up to birds chirping the first morning and I was in heaven.

Anyway, here are a few things I’m really enjoying at the moment.

1. PureFizz: I picked up a serious seltzer water habit during the summers while living in Utah. There is nothing more refreshing to me during these steamy months than a delicious glass of bubbly water. The Korean bodega by my office sells cans for only $1, but Zak just gifted me the PureFizz for my birthday and I’m hooked.

2. Biking: I started biking to work after I began working at Moven back in May, and I’m proud to say I haven’t given up since moving to Brooklyn. Our local bike shop, Red Lantern Bicycles, fixed up an old single speed Zak had for less than $100 and I’ve been riding it over the Manhattan Bridge to work every day. Its a little bit of a sweaty ride, but the spectacular views of Manhattan make it worth every minute. And that beater single speed is a heck of a lot faster than the CitiBikes I was used to taking.

3. Call Your Girlfriend: This hilarious podcast has been my go to for the last several weeks any time I’m walking around the city or happen to be riding the subway. Two long-distance best friends gt together each week to discuss current events, issues and feminism. They are intelligent, witty, and never fail to keep me up to date on everything important that’s going on in the world. They also make me feel empowered and inspired as a woman. I highly recommend.

4. Brooklyn Ice Cream: Y’all, if there is one thing I love more than fizzy water in the summertime, its a good ice cream cone. There are two exceptional spots in Brooklyn that have been causing serious cravings. Luckily, they’re both a far enough walk from my apartment to discourage impulsive decision making. Ample Hills Creamery is in Prospect Heights and it has a ton of creative and delicious flavors, if you’re an adventurous ice cream eater. I’ve had the peppermint pattie and the orange sherbet and both are out of this world. If you’re ever in Brooklyn Bridge Park, do not miss out on a visit to Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory. Once you taste their strawberry ice cream, you’ll be wondering why you’ve never liked strawberry ice cream before, because it is freakin’ delicious. Trust me, go there, get the strawberry.

Leave a Reply

